Join Together - Advanced Session Options
By default, Join Together always exports a finished audio file and adds it to the appropriate app, leaving the original source tracks/files intact. The Advanced Session Options panel provides additional export control settings that can be applied per-session.
To access the Advanced Session Options panel:
When you're ready to export, instead of clicking the "Export" button...
• Press and hold the Option key on your keyboard and then click the "Export" button in the main window
OR
• Press and hold the Option key on your keyboard while clicking the File menu and then choose "Join Tracks with Options..."
The Advanced Session Options settings will only be in effect for the current session:
Ignore tracks' user-set Start/Stop Times
By default, Join Together will honor the Start Time and Stop Time set in each track's Get Info > Options panel. Checking this setting will ignore these Start and Stop Times and the full duration of each track will be honored.
(Applies only to tracks dragged from the Music app or iTunes; the full duration of files dragged from the Finder or from a CD will always be honored.)
Save file to selected folder:
Select a folder to save the exported file. If unchecked, the file is exported to an appropriate folder in your iTunes Media folder automatically.
Add to Music/iTunes
If checked, adds the file to the app. If unchecked, the file will not be added.
Note: if your Music/iTunes Preferences are set to "Copy files to Media folder when adding to library" and the file is saved to a user-selected folder outside the Media folder using the Save file to selected folder: option described above then Music/iTunes will copy (not move) the file from that location to the Media folder after the file is added.
...and to playlist:
If checked, copies the track added to the selected playlist.
Delete source tracks
If checked, removes the source tracks from Music/iTunes (removing the track does not delete the track's file). Cannot be undone.
Trash source files
If checked, Trashes the source files (whether they are the files of tracks dragged from Music/iTunes or files dragged from the Finder). Cannot be undone. However files can be recovered from the Trash folder.
Always open this panel on Export
When checked, the Advanced Session Options panel will always open when the "Export" button is clicked, rather than having to press and hold the Option key.
• Cloud Music Library/iTunes Match tracks in the cloud: Deleting a track from the Music app or iTunes or trashing its file does not remove it from the cloud. There is no secure programmatic means of deleting tracks/files from the cloud.
Remember: These settings will only be applied to the current session and only after opening the Advanced Session Options panel and verifying the settings by pressing its "OK" button. Or to put it another way: these settings are ignored unless the Advanced Session Options panel is activated first.